Tuesday, May 22, 2007

Worky McFrog

So, in addition to the yarn shop, I am also looking into changing my main job (besides the Mom thing; keeping that one). Currently, I work for a Major Department Store (MDS) part-time in the evenings. Retail is tough, physically, plus the added joy of customers who think you are too stupid to do anything else (don't judge me!) is starting to wear thin. On the plus side, the other employees are fun to work with, and the management team is great. They have been very understanding of my various scheduling weirdities. Oh, and let's not forget that employee discount!

Last week, I spoke with a display company about a customer service/sales support postition, 30 hours a week, about 20-30 minutes from home. The job plays into my love of graphic design and recent and past experience in sales support and customer service. The downside is, while it does pay better than the retail thang (duh), it might not pay enough to cover child care (three kids, oy). Plus I would be away from my kids for most of the day EVERY DAY. While some days that might sound like more fun than being WITH my kids all day, and while other parents are gone from their kids a lot, this would really be a big switch for me. I went to part time once my daughter was born, and was able to work from home for the first months of Boy1, so I have always been able to spend a lot of time with my kids. Taking this job would be a lot less of a hassle if the kids were in school, but summer is coming, and Daddy has to work some time too! I would have to give up my volunteer projects at the kids' school. I can't imagine letting go of my fabulous employee discount at MDS, yet I can't imagine working both jobs plus teaching knitting classes. And I really want to teach the knitting classes. And play Volunteer Mom.

Then, also last week, I spoke with another company about a part-time office position, 15-20 hours per week. This job would be about 5-10 minutes from home. The position would be general office help, with the occasional opportunity to do some graphics/writing/marketing (my career loves) as needed. The job and the employer sound much more flexible than the display company, plus it is only 5 miles from my house. I could go green and bike to work! With gas at 3.49/gallon, the prospect of spending ZERO DOLLARS to get to work has a lot of appeal. The only drawback that I can see is that it is a technical company; graphics and marketing don't play into what they do at all. On the plus side, if I decide I am interested in learning more about what the technical people do, the owner would let me move into that position eventually. As it stands, I could possibly do this job, the MDS, and the knitting thing. Daddy could watch the kids most of the time that I would be working, with the occasional hired babysitter/generous relative filling in. It would be crazy, especially at the beginning of each week, but it might work.

My working goal is to avoid another retail holiday season. I was completely miserable last year, and I hate being miserable in any job. It really is time to move on from MDS, but I am having a hard time letting go completely. (Discount?)

1 comment:

Khadijha Caitlin said...

A Mother's work is never done! I feel ya - I've been contemplating looking into getting a job. I'm currently doing the whole unemployed stay at home mama thing. Which I love I just want my own spending cash.
Good luck! Hows the yarn store going? Have they hired you already?
That would be so cool!